Honours and Awards

  1. The most prestigious JC Bose National Fellowship of the Government of India, 2012: : second term (2017-) ongoing
  2. Best Scientist Award of Haryana (Haryana Vigyan Ratna Award) for 2008-09, carrying cash award of Rs 1 lac, a citation and trophy from the Government of Haryana. (D.O. No PS/1897 dated 03-12-09)
  3. Nominated by Ministry of Environment GoI as Chairman of the State Expert Appraisal Committee for Environmental clearances for any developmental activities for UT Chandigarh under EIA (Vide Gazette Notification of Aug 21, 2009,)
  4. The only awardee in the region of UGC honorarium of Rs 15000 pm till retirement for being Fellow of 2 academies
  5. Awarded SAARC Chair in Chittagong University, Bangladesh, 2007-08
  6. Adjunct Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China at the XTBG, for 2 years 2007-2009
  7. Punjab Rattan Award for Environment Science and Education, 2007-08
  8. Dr K.K. Nanda Memorial Oration Lecture Award at Dopoli Maharashtra2007
  9. Certified Senior Ecologist(Highest global Accreditation) by Board of Professional Certification, ESA, USA, 2005-15
  10. B.P. Pal National Environment Fellowship Award – 2001 Union Ministry of Environment & Forests (highest award)
  11. State Honour for Teaching and Research in Environment from UT Chandigarh Government, 1998  
  12. Nanda Memorial National Young Scientist Gold Medal Award for Research in Forestry,1988
  13. Vijay Shree Award, New Delhi, 2006
  14. Felicitations at the International Conference on Environment and Biodiversityat Delhi University, 2008
  15. National Visiting Associateshipof UGC, India
  16. Gregor Mendel Medal awarded in Brno, Czechoslovakia1979
  17. UNESCO-WHO Post-doctoral Fellowship at Institute of Experimental Botany, Praha, Czechoslovakia1978-79
  18. Second Best Research Paper in Hindi Award by ICAR in 1997
  19. First Friday Forum Award for creativity in Environment – 10-9-2010
  20. Research Fellowship and Scientist-ship (Pool Officer)by CSIR

Fellowships and Academic Honours / Professional Leadership

  1. Fellow, Indian National Science Academy New Delhi, 2012                                         (FNA)
  2. Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, 2011                                 (FASc.)
  3. Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, India, Allahabad, 2004                  (FNASc.)
  4. Fellow, National Academy Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi 2005            (FNAAS)
  5. Fellow, Indian Botanical Society, Meerut/Jaipur1992                                     (FBS)
  6. Fellow, National Environmental Science Academy, New Delhi                    (FNESA)
  7. Chair/Coordinator, IUFRO Working Party on Invasive Ecology (2006-15) and Multipurpose Inventories (2000-2010) 
  8. Secretary (1991-97) and Vice-President (since 1997) Society of Environmental Scientists, New Delhi
  9. Gen. Secretary, Dayanand National Academy of Environmental Sciences (since 1994) 
  10. Former Member, Executive Committee of the Punjab Academy of Sciences 
  11. Former Member, Governing body of Indian Society of Tree Scientists
Copyright © 2014. All Rights Reserved